1st post with a question.

vondano

Oct 28, 2011
Quebec
www.soundclick.com
first post here, so first of all, hi to all!

my name is Nicolas, im a 30yo guitarist/composer/AE enthousiast from Quebec, Canada, and I lurk here quite a lot!

I'm reading a lot of forum, and this one seems the best one to answer my questions about AE so here it goes!

I mix and track using Mackie MR8 and/or AKG ATH-M50s (if the gf is sleeping...)

now here's my question/problem:

i find the low end of my mixes always being the hard spot to work, my MR8 seems to lack a lot below 200 hz and my AKG seems even worst from 80 to 300hz when mixing at home and then listening to my mixes on someone else monitors, there seems to be a lot more low end (usualy a bit too much even tho i try to compensate in my mix...)

what i mean is, even when mixing with the +4db bass switch activated on my MR8, my mix low end always seems out of control when listening somewhere else (always too much bass) while at home, the low end seems lacking a bit.

i know a lot of bedroom AE like myself are using those with good result, so i think im probably deaf from all the mesa 4x12 cab i played in the last 10 years...

there seems to be quite a big difference between the ath-m50 and the MR8...

i dont know what to trust...

nowadays, I mix mostly with my MR8 with the +4 db bass switch, but I feal like its always a bit of a guess to know howl my mix will translate...

so,

how do you guys deal with this? any tricks or technique would be really appreciated

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=441370

i'm far from pro but i'll share anyway, those are my mixes, the top one being the newest. (the dragon warrior tribute and Yakuza Cowboy are my best one i'd say)

is the low end out of control in your listening setup?? are they awful? please be honest so i can work to improve!

thanx a lot for taking the time to read my awful english ( i usualy speak
french)

nico