3 Strings??!!??

blaknift

New Metal Member
May 17, 2013
Hey Steve, Ive been a Lifelong fan of your work, And you and Jaco are the reason I started playing a fretless. I got to see you on the Death To All Tour in Cincinnati on april 20th. You had your 2 thor's, The 5 and 6 string, But on the 5 string you only had 3 strings strung up! Whats up with that, That was awesome! Thanks man, You have really helped me out as a musician and every time I listen to your work I am inspired to just practice for freakin hours.

Thanks, Shane

PS. I bought one of your shirts at the DTA Show!

Hey thanks a lot for all the cool compliments man! I really appreciate it. Man the idea for the 3-string came a while back on a tour I was filling in for Obituary and I realized that there are a lot of death metal songs that only need the basic low notes and to play a bass with only the 3 strings is a unique thing that is also so minimalistic. I'm working on making a true 3-stringer that has the spacing and size of the 5-stringer...what do you think? Anyone willing to play this model? LowEnders must be proud to just pump out the low notes and not have all those high notes to distract!! If you don't use 'em; lose em!

yeah that would be awesome! you could even put just like 5 frets on it... or maybe no frets at all? :)

Thanks for the reply man! And thats awesome! It looked really easy to play, and ill keep an eye on your facebook for the 3 stringer ;) lol. I was joking with my buddy that night after the show about ripping a few strings off my 5er.

I saw this for the first time while watching Testament's live stream from Knotfest. Man did I do a triple take on that one. But the visual, especially on a fretless, was mind blowing.

Can you get more speed on a single string that way, Steve? I used to play a standard 4 string bass and never had an issue with strings being too close.