6506 1x12 combo amp?

Tommy Evans

Jul 19, 2011
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Sorry if this has been brought up before, the search function is hard to use on my phone, and once I got it to work I didn't see anything directly related to this topic.

Anyone use one of these combo amps? If they sound as good as the 6505 head that most of you guys make sound amazing, I'll seriously consider saving up for one. It's all tube, which is something I've never used before or have any experiance with. If anyone has any clips they can post with this amp being used id love to hear it. Or any more info on it. Thanks!

Im going to bump this.. im very interrested as well in getting one, im also very curious how that speaker simulation works (probably not that well, but still curious).

Peavey MSDI microphone-simulated direct interface, which eliminates the need for miking by allowing users to route the amp's signal directly to a recording device or mixing console.

They're awesome amps for the money. They're biased a little hotter than the regular 6505's, so they're fatter and warmer right out of the gate. Also, dealers have a pretty decent profit margin on these (American made 2x12's and heads are different) so if you go through a local dealer, there's enough wiggle room to get a great deal all while the store still keeps a smile.

I have one, it's my main amp. I like it quite a bit. I got mine a year ago when cash was much tighter... for the price, it's excellent. It's definitely got the 5150 thing going on.
I've never played the 5150II/6505+ head version, so I can't really compare it, but I used to own a 5150 head a few years ago and the tone is definitely there. Although, of course, it's a bit different due to it being the + and not the normal version.