Album length dilemma

Cacoph0ny

Feb 23, 2008
So I've been working on an album for this band I want to get started and I'm getting closer and closer to finishing the writing process. Anyway, I've ended up with a ton of music, too much actually which I never thought would happen since I always felt I had writer's block. So right now the tracks/estimated track times are around 100 minutes. I'm really looking to shave it down to no more than 80 or so. I was thinking about taking maybe two tracks (most of these songs are long) and putting them on the next album but I would have a really hard time doing that. I've been working on some of this stuff for 2 years and I want to get it all out at once and start completely over for the next album. Also, I don't want 2 discs or anything, even then I would feel the album would be too long. Does anyone have any advice? I kind of shut down all my options haha.. Anyone have a similar experience?

most listeners get bored after a few minutes and fast forward to the next song anyways.

shorten your long songs. If you have alot of them leave maybe 1 or 2 of the strongest long but shorten the others, especially if they are doing parts multiple times.

Cut the album down to 70-80 minutes, release the rest as a free EP of b-sides.

30-50 min is ideal album lenght imo, 80 min is way too long to listen

I dunno about that, if it's still quality music I'd always much rather have it go right up the 80 minute mark! (more for the money :D) Though I've never been one to necessarily obsess over listening to a whole album in one sitting or anything...

depends on the album
tool - lateralus is something like 78 minutes and it just doesnt wear out its welcome
but thats definately an exception, most bands cant seem to sustain 80 minutes worth of material

I set my own mark on 40 minutes.

Damn, that's pretty short.