Am I overdoing it with this Mastering Chain?

guitarguru777

Nov 13, 2003
Las Vegas
www.jasonconstantine.com
I am in the middle of mastering a project for a band I just finished mixing. This is my first attempt at really mastering FOR REAL, just wondering if I am overdoing it .....

Chain:

Focusrite EQ
Ozone Harmonic Exciter
Gclip
Waves G-SSL Comp
Voxengo Elephant
T-Racks Brickwall Limiter

EDIT: Wanted to put my thought process in...lol

Overall EQ Sculpting of the mix from the Focusrite EQ. The only reason for the exciter is that the EQ on the focusright I couldnt get to sit right, and when I used the exciter and tweaked the higs to the specific frequency it came out how I wanted. Gclip is G Clip you know what it does ..lol G SSL the overall GLUE for the mix. Elephant to get my Loudness. T-Racks to brick wall the entire thing at the end of the chain.

Mix is pushing just around -8.9 RMS

I am just really concerned that I am really "over doing it" and have too many things running. My PC handles it fine, but this actually sounds great to my ears.

While I agree with Egan, I will say that you've got more dynamics-based plugins than I'd be fully comfortable with (G-Clip, SSL comp, Elephant, Brickwall Lim). It'd be really easy to overdo it with all those unless you staged things carefully.

The order you see is the way they are staged

GClip is only there to keep the kick and snare really audible. My understanding is it there to tame the peaks pretty much and keep the snare and kick audible by clipping them. Thats the only reason I popped it in the chain before the SSL as I was getting some pumping that I didnt like but I loved how my overall balance between low, mid and high end was in the mix. Elephant was there just to get the mix as loud as the client wanted and the brick wall was to keep it all for distorting like mad and peaking all over the place.