Anyone interested in writing lessons on playing metal?

insideac

Mar 3, 2008
I noticed that there was really no concrete place where someone could go and learn metal, and I mean actual music lessons, not just videos of people wanking, as is the style for shredding instructionals.

My goal for the end of the year is to make a website like this, dedicated to teaching aspiring guitarists, vocalists, drummers, whatever, how to play real metal (No A7X or such...Blargh), and have theory lessons as well, everything focused on the music styles.

The difficulties will range from absolute beginner, to more advanced players. Now what Im asking you guys, is if anyone is interested in helping me write lessons for one of the following sections, please PM me to discuss it further. You dont have to have a webcam or any web programming knowledge, you can simply put the lesson in word files and attach tabs or something. If you guys want to see what the site is looking like so far, please visit it at www.themetalsessions.com.

Lessons needed for: Guitar, Drums, Bass, Vocals, Recording, Production, and Bandleading/maintaining

If youd like, you can also help interview bands. So far I have Mirrorthrone, Tvangeste, and Origin, and am finishing up on Insidious Decrepancy.

EDIT: Also, I am aware that some of the elitists will shun me for "exposing metal to the masses" or something, or an excuse like "you cant/shouldnt teach metal", as I believe it will help advance the music faster if everyone didnt have to struggle with learning

this should go in musician's discussion.

Sounds like a good idea, though. However, you realize that for pretty much any technique on any instrument you can type it into a youtube search and get 3 million results showing you how to do it, right?

this should go in musician's discussion.