Guitar-lessons or no

Eptar the Goat Lord

New Metal Member
Sep 5, 2002
Your Imagination
Visit site
K well, i am a drummer, and i have been for the past 6 years, but i would really like to learn to play guitar now. I cant decide if i should take lessons or not. Are there any really good sites for beginner guitarists? I found some but they charged money. Any advice helps!

Actually, most guitarists taught themselves. Whoever the guitarist is in Creed (I don't know his name--and yeah they suck but his guitar playing is wicked) taught himself. I bought a CD and this book to teach myself. Problem is, I haven't actually sat down and listened to it yet. :rolleyes: But I did tune the guitar; I can play one song, and part of Jingle Bells (don't ask...)

There's some computer software that I saw somewhere (well obviously it costs money too) called "Teach Me Guitar!". I don't know if it would do any good though...

Here are some websites that I found:
Play Guitar In One Hour
Free Online Guitar Lessons

:) Good luck!

If you've been playing the drums for 6 years, you should know some guitarists, right? =) Ask some of them to sit down and teach you some stuff.

Simple songs like "For whom the bell tolls" are pretty good to start out with. By just knowing a simple power-chord, how to do muted strumming and a bit of practice, you can start playing rhythm guitar on a lot of songs. Don't bother with solos in the beginning, but never be afraid to experiment and push yourself.

For soloing, you need build a feeling for the guitar and have a good understanding of scales. Musical theory does help a lot. A good thing to practice once you know the most common scales, is to just sit around and play simple melodies. I play melodies I hear on the radio, in computer games, etc. Sometimes when I hear something and think "hey, that would be fun to play on the guitar", I grab the axe and start figuring it out.

Depends on how much you want to get into it.