New To Guitar, Have a Question

Dec 3, 2008
Hello everyone. So my best friend just got a new $2000 guitar and a new amp and he gave me his old guitar and amp for safekeeping and so I could teach myself guitar, which is something that I've wanted to do for a pretty longtime.

Now here's the thing. I'm an absolute beginner. I also have no money to spend on books or dvd's or even better yet, lessons.

I'm wondering if there is some sort of website online JUST FOR METALHEADS that has a lot of very detailed guitar lessons starting from absolute beginners all the way up? The reason I ask just for metalheads is because I know myself very well and know that I will get incredibly bored if I'm learning songs by like, Taylor Swift or somebody I don't care about. I'd rather play endless scales than learn a song I don't care about or learn things like major chords that don't really ever get used in metal, because at least with scales that's how you become good at soloing and improvisation and shit.

There used to be a site around called themetalsessions taht I was a part of, but I guess it's disappeared? It's a shame, but I guess you could say I'm looking for something along those lines. A FREE website of some sort entirely dedicated to metal guitar FROM THE GROUND UP.

I have no idea what the hell I'm doing so I have no lesson plan. I don't know what it is I do and don't need to know. I'm such a beginner that I can't even hold the pick the right way! :p

I tried looking for beginner lessons on ultimate guitar but it seemed like most of them were dedicated to general guitar and not specifically to metal, and I got bored rather quickly of that. Is there any sort of database or youtube channel or website or ANYTHING full of lessons for metal guitar from absolute fresh beginner status upwards?

Thanks so much!