Create a Metal Cirriculum

Prowler121

CingKrimzon
Jul 4, 2003
www.elephant-talk.com
Let's say you wanted to teach an absolute beginner how to play Metal guitar within a year using 5 albums based on the skill level required to play the music on those albums. Starting from easiest to hardest, what albums would you require your students to learn?

My Choices

Introduction to Metal guitar :Black Sabbath-Masters Of Reality.

Beginner: Danzig-Self Titled

Intermidiate: Iron Maiden-Killers

Advanced: Metallica-Master of Puppets

Metal Guitarist Graduate:Opeth-Blackwater Park

Hmm...that's a good one. :) How about these, from easiest to hardest?

Kiss - Alive!
AC/DC - Live
Deep Purple - Made in Japan
Rush - Rock in Rio
Nile - pick an album :D

I've primarily picked live albums because this way you get more of a bands repetoire to choose from.

Well I don't play much guitar these days but if I were doing it for bass i'd go with:

Introduction:
Darkthrone - Transylvanian Hunger (it's like 5 notes total :D)
Mayhem - Deathcrush

Beginner:
Amon Amarth - Legend of a Banished man
Mayhem - Ancient Skin

Intermediate:
Destruction - Nailed to the Cross
Dark Tranquillity - Fabric
In Flames - Dead Eternity

Advanced:
Mudvayne - Dig (as much as I hate this band, the bass player has some undeniable talent)
Rage Against the Machine - Kiling in the Name
Iron Maiden - Tailgunner

Graduate:
Borknagar - Gods of my world (the fretless bass solo rocks)
Liquid Tension Experiment - Acid Rain

Intoduction: Black Sabbath - Paranoid

Beginner: Judas Priest - British Steel

Intermediate: Queensryche - Operation: Mindcrime

Advanced: Morbid Angel - Alters of Madness

Graduation: Megadeth - Rust In Peace or Dark Angel - Darkness Descends

How not to play: Metallica - St. Anger

Prowler121 said: