Anyone know a good remedy for bass blisters?

Craysh3

Bathrobed Architect
Dec 17, 2008
2 and a half hour jam. Fucking great. But I've never fingerpicked the bass for that long at one time before... I'm actually typing with my ring finger on the right hand right now cause it hurts like such a bitch right now... It honestly looks like my index and middle finger each have a giant orange-reddish puss bubble at their tips. The thing is, I don't remember the blisters being this bad when I started playing guitar 5 years ago. I'd take a picture of it with my webcam but the lighting is shit in here. Anyways, ice? Beaver feces? I'd google it but you guys are a funnier and wiser bunch than those assholes on yahoo answers and wikihow...

So yeah, thanks in advance.

That's all fine and dandy until you try to scroll with a rugged mousewheel...

Keep playing until it hurts so fucking much you can't touch a string, then quit for an entire week. Rinse. Repeat.

This process is called "doing what every other stringed instrument musician does: building calluses."

Or you could just wake up one day and decide to be awesome and sell your bass and buy a guitar. What do you do if you see your bassist drowning? Throw him his amplifier....

I'm a guitar player first and foremost, as I've mentioned up top. Over 5 years running... But that's why all my calluses are on my left hand. I don't mind the bass at all though, I feel like a tall funky black man whilst playing it.

What a
Tabby1-DomesticCat-Closeup.jpg

Deal with it. Wait a couple days until you can continue playing and tear you fingers to submission again as everyone else said.