Anyone use LittleLabs RedEye?

Matt Smith

THEOCRACY
Jun 11, 2004
Athens, GA
www.theocracymusic.com
I just picked one up for reamping, and I'm not sure if I need to pick up a separate DI box to split the signal, or if the RedEye will do it all. What I mean is, I need to record the amp and a DI at the same time (the DI for potential reamping later). Do I need a seperate splitter, or can I use the RedEye for this purpose in addition to reamping? I believe both outputs on the back are mic level/balanced, so maybe not.
Sorry for the dumb questions, but I've never done this before and don't want to blow up an amp or get stuck with a DI track that's 18db quieter than it needs to be or whatever.

The RedEye's specifications are here:

http://www.littlelabs.com/redeye.html

If I do need a separate splitter, recommend me a good one.

Thanks!!

though looking at it, the unbalanced out is probably the re amp out on the front. So instrument in, balanced DI out of XLR to line/mic in of DAW and unbalanced out of reamp out on the front to your amp, Should work, I've never used this box so...

I actually emailed them about this a month or so back and he replied (sort of cryptically) that there was a "thru" on the back. What I took that to mean was that since the guit input on the front and on the back are parrallel you can use it as such. He also said the "reamp out" only works in reamp mode. That said I haven't bought one so I can't say I've tried it. I'll try to dig up the email and PM it to you....or you could just email them yourself as the write back very quickly. Let me know what works.