Audio Level Advice for Recording and Mixing

onetruth

Apr 21, 2006
Worcester, UK
www.myspace.com
Hi everyone,

I joined this forum ages ago and have picked up some excellent advice over the past few years, but I'm still learning and have a few questions to ask.....hope someone can answer them for me! :) Also, this is my first post....so please be gentle!

I recorded a band a few months ago at a small studio in herefordshire - my first proper paid recording session as an engineer! Managed to record 3 tracks in 2 days......drums, bass, 2xguitars + overdubs (solo's etc) and vox. I then took the project back home and began mixing on my project studio setup. I was constantly refferring to threads on this forum for mixing advice and all seemed to be going well (to my ears) until I came across the thread about gain staging......

I've read the thread on this forum and been on the PSW forum. Also read this article here: http://www.massivemastering.com/blog/index_files/Proper_Audio_Recording_Levels.php which has opened my eyes a LOT!

My problem is that I didn't know much about gain staging during the recording session and so I'm not sure if I recorded the instruments 'too hot' or not. I know for sure I checked that their was no clipping while tracking and so must have left a bit of headroom.....but looking back, I think I was aiming close to 0db. a mistake!? possibly?! but now i'm at the mixing stage, i'm trying to figure out how best to mix ITB, in terms of levels. From reading through the various threads on this subject, the main piece of advice I saw repeated a few times was to mix at an average level of -20dbfs with peaks around -10 and -6dbfs. have i got that right? so in practice, lets say ive got the kick drum on a track with the fader on 0. Do I just drop the fader down so that the hardest hits are peaking around -6 and -10dbfs? Also, is the meter on each track in cubase 5 measured as dbfs? I'm currently at work so not at my recording PC to check!