Blotted Science guitar tips?

Virgil.

¯\(°_o)/¯
Jul 12, 2005
Seattle, WA
Is anyone here familiar with the band Blotted Science? http://www.myspace.com/blottedscience

I've been really wanting to embrace and learn how to play / write guitar riffs in Ron Jarzombek's style. I'm definitely planning on buying his upcoming instructional DVD; but until then, I'm stuck trying to figure stuff out by ear, it seems.

I really love the track "Synaptic Plasticity", but I can't find the sheet music/tabs for it anywhere. All the videos or videos I see of people playing this are all playing it up to speed. I'm not very good at transcribing stuff by ear, so I was hoping someone on here could be of some assistance? (Can any of you recommend some good programs to slow down audio to learn by ear w/out changing pitch? I use Reaper for recording... does Reaper have any sort of way of doing that?)

In regards to writing stuff like this... I'm also really digging bands like Threat Signal, Meshuggah, Bulb / Periphery, Sikth, etc.
Can anyone suggest good songs to learn or things I can practice to learn how to play stuff that is very rhythmically focused like this with weird tunings and odd timings?

I don't have a 7-string or 8-string, so I have to rely on down-tuning my 6 string. So any suggestions you have for 6-string players would be great. (I'm pretty sure Rob J. recorded Blotted Science's album with his 6-string tho.)

Thank you, in advance, for any help, suggestions, guidance, links to tabs/sheet music/videos, etc. :)

-Jesse

Is anyone here familiar with the band Blotted Science? http://www.myspace.com/blottedscience

I've been really wanting to embrace and learn how to play / write guitar riffs in Ron Jarzombek's style. I'm definitely planning on buying his upcoming instructional DVD; but until then, I'm stuck trying to figure stuff out by ear, it seems.