Bonjour, comment-allez vous?

Oct 26, 2002
United States
angelfire.com
Hello, everyone. It is nice to have become a member of this (apparently) flourishing metal community. For starters, I will share a few short biographical details.

My name is Michael, I'm 21 and I'm a college student studying classical guitar in the music department of Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia. I enjoy classical music as well as metal (I actually got into classical because of black metal, namely Emperor). My favorite composers are Sylvius Leopold Weiss (1686-1750; Baroque lutenist extraordinaire), Manuel Maria Ponce, Isaac Albeniz, Leo Brouwer, Augustin Barrios Mangore, among others.

My favorite metal bands are too long and varied to list, but my top three, which I like to call the Unholy Trinity, are Emperor, Opeth, and Anathema. I will list a few more: Diabolical Masquerade, Immortal, Frostmoon Eclipse, Arcturus, Dissection. I also enjoy many bands discovered through mp3.com such as: Forest Stream (whose Earache debut I am awaiting with baited breath; if anyone can help me to obtain their demos, especially "Last Season's Purity", please contact me), Ashtaroth, Rakoth, etc ad infinitum. If you're curious about anything else, don't hesitate to ask.

@ Fuckwhoevertookdemonofthefall: could you recommend some GOOD classical? I've always liked classical, but never really took the time to look into it ...

Welcome to UM! :wave:

I just thought I would get to practice some French then, but it seems you're American instead. Bah.

Enjoy the forums. :)

@Furious B: Yeah, I'm not too fond of opera either, although Wagner's "Niebelungen" saga is pretty good.