Cheap Electronic Drums

AllanD

boom tap boom-boom tap
Jul 2, 2008
Houston
So I'm sick of programming drums, and I'm a decent drummer. Any of you guys experienced with electric sets? I'm thinking of using it in conjunction with Superior. If getting a decent one is expensive, I'm open to DIY. Opinions?

Cheap as in >400$ new/used.

Whoops, forgot to put that on the first post. Any specific things I should look for/watch out for?

I think the Alesis DM5 Pro looks really good for not much money, especially if you can get one second hand.

owned one, DO NOT recommend. the module is simply awful... does not trigger very well. i've owned a trigger i/o as well, also useless after extensive attempts at configuring and even flashing the firmware. I've had four different e-kits in my lifetime and fantasized about countless more... seriously, you NEED to get a cheap Roland. anything else just doesn't work. you will be frustrated and waste time/money trying anything else. i owned a roland HD-1, the one with the fake kicks (which are super quiet and rather fun) and that was by far the best i've had and was awesome to plug into superior or any toontrack sampler. the obvious limitation there, is you can't do double kick/hi-hats at the same time.

now i have a frankensteined old td-6 that i shat together with various parts and i wish i just had a new one because the modules on the floor and there's a horrifying cabling nightmare intertwined all around it and the kick is broken, but... it's still awesome. roland. must.

if you're handy and motivated, lurk around on some DIY e-kit forums, you can build e-kits from virtually nothing with some time and a soldering iron... and then you just gotta find a td-6 or something kickin around on eBay.

......all that being said, the newest alesis (NOT the DM5) seems reasonable for the price, after sitting down at it only briefly in guitar center.