CUBASE noobfail question.

darthjujuu

Nov 17, 2008
Boston
www.myspace.com
Embarassing question. This is what I get for being self-taught.

So I'm in cubase, tracking a drummer, drummer wants to punch in. I roll back a few bars, drummer has headphones and is listening to what he just played. Drummer starts playing. Now regardless if i've set punch points or just mash record, i am now required to as quickly as i can click one-by-one the "monitor" buttons on each track (usually kick/snare/guitar) to switch over from playing back the previous take to allowing the drummer to hear himself playing live (and also the guitarist.) this might be confusing without screenshots. i'm also using a firepod which has basically zero routing flexibility.

i suppose basically what i'm looking for is a setting/macro that will automatically switch each track to "monitor mode" when i punch in or hit record, and then (ideally) flick it off when recording stops.

or maybe i'm just oblivious to some other more traditional method of punching in/out that i'm just not aware of :rolleyes: HALP PLZ&THX?!

I don't have cubase in my office but if my memory serves me correctly, a folder track doesn't have a monitor arm toggle, only solo/mute/record arm

i just jumped in reaper and clicking on the "monitor" button on each track provided three modes: on, off, and auto. a right-click of the monitor button gave me a menu and one of the check on/check off options was "monitor while recording". reaper pwns, i think i may just need to make the full switch =/

Alternative.

If there are no other tracks between your drumtracks you can do this:

Select the top track
Hold shift and click the bottom track
Now all are selected and you can activate them all at once (I think :))

More than one click though but still...

EDIT: F4 is the key shortcut to monitor.. That eliminates one click :)

you could make duplicats of your tracks, make 2 folders
in each folder you have the same subtracks (BD, Snare...)