do i need to bias my 5150 for a re-tube?

Incognito Man

Jan 27, 2009
its time for new tubes in my 5150 and i have never done this before so i dont know much about it.

do i need to bias the head or can i just put the tubes in and be on my way?

on the eurotubes site it says the tube kit is "plug and play" so i assume this means i do not need to bias.

also it says to put a speific tube in "v1" what position is v1?

the head is an older model with eddies signature on the back and it just says "EVH" in bold black letters on the front.

thanks!

i just found this info on the net so perhaps i will have to take it in.

"Fixed bias does not mean that the amp "biases itself". It means that the voltage to bias the amp is a fixed one, which is usually adjustable (or, should be) so that the amp can be biased properly for each new set of tubes"

V1 is a position in the preamp (12AX7 tubes, the smaller ones). These can be changed without any adjustments. Replacing power tubes usually requires settings the bias. Although you theoretically could just swap the tubes and play without problems, you could also fry not only the tubes, but potentially also some parts of the amp - and you probably don't want to do that. If you're investing into complete retubing, add a few more bucks and have someone reliable and experienced do that. Better safe than sorry.

5150s unless modded are fixed Bias... so no.

That's not what fixed bias means.

EDIT: I got beat to the punchline.

i just found this info on the net so perhaps i will have to take it in.

"Fixed bias does not mean that the amp "biases itself". It means that the voltage to bias the amp is a fixed one, which is usually adjustable (or, should be) so that the amp can be biased properly for each new set of tubes"