Drum Mixing question for the seasoned veterans!

cliftonmiles

Jul 7, 2010
Today I began tracking a single with a young band here locally. The drummer was pretty good, and after they left I edited the drums pretty intensly by hand in Pro Tools. It's not drum machine perfect but its damn close.

After this I started working on a nice kick and snare sample from his kit. I want for the band to have a general idea of what Im going for with there drum mix by tommorow when we start tracking guitars and bass.

This got me thinking about the future of this mix and what I want it to sound like in the end...
As a beginner I am still finding my own techniques and preferences and style, so as part of my learning I do quite a bit of A/B referencing to mixes by Zeuss, Adam D, Bendeth etc...

I think for this particular band I want to give a shot at a mix similar to Zeuss' latest work with the Acacia Strain.

Here is my reference mix:http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4755700/02 The Hills Have Eyes.mp3

I absolutly love the drum mix. It sounds enormous. All of the drums are very "in your face" and up front.

Here is what I have:http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4755700/BTG_Drum Mix.mp3
All I have is a scratch track (a sloppy one) and the fresh edited drums. There is a home made sample on the kick and snare. I am thinking my kick may be a bit too "clicky" for this type of metal. I am diggin' the snare though....
Overall the sounds are close to how I want them, not final obviously, but the drums just sound so FLAT!

So heres the big question:

Without mention of the fact that we are listening to a better band, and a mastered final version of this particular song...

How does one get from where i am, to a hugeslammin' up front in-your-face drum mix?
Drum Busses? Compressors? Limiters? More reverb?

Thank you for your time.