Drum Solution?

Brent Holder

Separating Body From Head
Aug 27, 2013
Hey guys, I recently got my first set of recording equipment! I got the Komplete Audio 6 Audio Interface which came with Guitar Rig 5 Pro (And it came with Reaktor and Komplete Elements but I'm not sure if they are full versions). I also have ATH-M50s and Cubase LE 6.

So as far as I can tell I have everything I need to start practicing with mixing. Only problem is I need some sort of drum program. I don't mind spending money but if I do I want to make sure the program I'm buying is going to be enough to suffice for a long time.

I know programs like EZ Drummer, Superior Drummer and Addictive Drums and then I feel like I've heard that you can just use a sampler and put drum samples and use that too... but I'm not 100% sure, but I was just wondering whats the best choice?

Sorry if this a bad question I'm really new to all this and want to make the best with what little spending money I have. Any advice any or input is welcome! :)

EZ Drummer with the Metal Machine ezx will get you started programming drums and it sounds ok without having to do anything extra. It's become my go-to for banging out drums for demos etc...

If you dont want to spend money, then use a sampler. There's an incredible amount of free drum samples on this site and online that sound equally as good or if not better than the EZ and Superior ones. A great starting point would be to search for Erkans Organized Drum Sample Pack and download the living shit out of that. From there you can download other samples you come across.

Then just look up a YouTube tutorial for the samples in Cubase LE 6 if there is one. If there's not I'm sure you can find a third party sampler for free.

EZ Drummer with the Metal Machine ezx will get you started programming drums and it sounds ok without having to do anything extra. It's become my go-to for banging out drums for demos etc...