First attempt at "clayman" technique

ab

New Metal Member
Jan 31, 2009
Hi,

I discovered this site a few days ago and found the clayman sticky post to be very interesting.

I'm also a newbie to recording, and for your critique, I've posted my first attempt (called "test") using the "clayman" mic technique....

www.myspace.com/qwerty01qwerty01

Unfortunately I don't have the kind of equipment described in the clayman article (and I'm not able to afford it any time soon either (Wife...Kids...Mortgage yaday yada). So the equipment that I've used is...

Seymour Duncan Custom pickup
USA Jackson Rhodes
Digitech Metal Master
Marshall JCM 800
Marshall 1960B Quad loaded with 4 English Celestian G12T-75's
2 Shure SM57's
M-Audio Fast Track Pro

The track only last for 16 seconds and I'm just chugging in C#. I'm just after some feedback on how I can improve the sound (of the guitars). There seems to be this (I think) low midrange hum thats quite annoying. If necessary I can provide more detail on the setup.

I've also uploaded a complete track (1099) of one of my first efforts at recording to give some sort of indication of the style of our band...
Similar equipment was used for this track except for a Randall RX120D head and the mics were not in the "clayman" position.

Ultimately someone else is going to mix and master the recordings but I would like to create the best raw material that I can.

Cheers,

Honestly, I didn't even know that was a guitar :OMG:

I would suggest working with one mic, really start trying to understand phase and then move on to two.

Since your fast-track pro doesn't have a phase reverse button, I couldn't recommend the white-noise mic placement technique to you.

Essentially, both mics need to be exactly the same difference from the source (when you're working SO close) to achieve an "in phase" and full sound.

Even a millimeter or two can make a huge difference. See if you can get someone to play guitar for you while you do this: