For those of you that are guitarists or play any other instrument...

Mm1066

Mediocre metal maker
Dec 18, 2010
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Was wondering about the whole having a teacher verses being self taught debate. I've always had a teacher but there has been some independent work done on my end as well. Here are my thoughts:

Pro teacher:

- Can underline problems in technique, therefore removing any chances of injury related to it
- Common problems are relatable to the teacher most of the time, therefore solutions can be easier
- Learning is easier with face to face contact rather than to a screen or book
- Techniques can be explained in a more relatable way
- You can gain a second perspective on song transcription or writing

Against teacher

- No teacher I have ever been to has been free. Both teachers have been above £20 an hour, and with no sustainable income it can set you back if you go regularly
- Having someone tell you what to do can be annoying to some and can discourage you from playing
- Being self taught is much more rewarding if you get up to a reasonable standard, which you can take credit for
- Some teachers will only teach you stuff that they like
- Some teachers can be arrogant pricks and will spend the lesson playing and showing off, whilst you are left twiddling your thumbs and watching the clock

Obviously these points are incomplete and have just come from my own experiences and contacts, but you get the idea.