Have your influences hurt you?

Schmidt_Rubin

Mar 18, 2006
Cape Cod
www.myspace.com
I started playing the bass in 1985, my main influence? you got it, Steve Harris. We started writing our own stuff in late 1986, got some good compliments but one thing I always heard was "hey you sound like Steve Harris"
So I started learning a wider variety of players from Bob Daisley to Geddy Lee to Stanley Clarke. I finally broke out of the Harris mold around 1990. Actually it was pretty difficult to do. We did original metal for years after that and I had finally broken my habit.

Now what I hear from other bassists is "hey you sound like Stu Hamm"

Is this a problem? :p

um, no - that's not a problem!! When do we jam? :headbang:

I did get told that I sounded like that "Adrian dude in Queensryche", but I was playing a Queensryche song at the time and the dude was quite toasted. :puke:

I've also been told I'm "too 80s" - HELL YEA!!:headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang:

Schmidt_Rubin said:
Now what I hear from other bassists is "hey you sound like Stu Hamm"

Is this a problem? :p

If you have Stu's chops that is not a problem. If you are sounding like Stu then it is. You are back in a similar boat as when you were said to sound like Steve.
Granted a more versatile boat but still a boat.

If you are on that level far be it for a hack like me to advise you. :worship:

If anything style wise is recognized it is a Geddy/Harris/Entwistle influence with a lot of clams. More a lack of natural skill and discipline made me the hack I am.

Jim

I'm not on Stu's level by any means, I can play a half dozen songs, three are Satch tunes. And I learn some chops from songs we can't complete as a band. Some of it is way too much to even try learning a whole song. I've been getting into Marcus Miller lately, "Silver Rain" is a cd I'd recommend to any bassist.