help with mix

aramism

Dec 2, 2006
New York, NY
www.myspace.com
ok this is the story with this. i was setting up mics in the room next to mine. i am producing and recording the band. i have two firepods daisy chained and its my first time recording another band aside from my own and my own little mini mixes so it was a challenge and a welcomed one at that. i was using like 13 channels or so for drums. this was literally the first time and i was only using the first firepod as the second one wasnt set up at the time and i had the drummer just play so i could get a feel. from the way this recording sounded i completely changed all the mics around. this recording did NOT have a bottom snare mic, and two md421 on toms. it is only a hi hat (nt5), 2 OH in front of kit, a blue 8 ball ( it sucks but i have one from a long time ago ) as a room mic behind the head of the guy, a ksm 44 back in the room a d6 on kick and a 57 on snare top.

i had the "tape" running so to speak so i can hear from my room what it sounded like and i was home tonight screwing around with logic and i thought it would be cool to try to salvage a non optimal drum recording where i just had the guy play a rock beat with bad micing (its been fixed since) and i figured it throw some apple loops on top and work on my mixing skills...

please critique. and i did this on my mac book pro at home so it was mixed on my hd 280 headphones and keep in mind ive never done stuff with horns and a full kit before. the way i have it set up i have like 14 tracks or so and ive repositioned the mics from this orignal "getting sounds" recording test.

http://www.sneapforum.celtiaproductions.co.uk/Aramism/hornsandelidrums.mp3