Hi hat in snare mic

krokit

Noisey B*****d
Dec 5, 2005
London
Hi guys

Has anybody found a cure for getting rid of the hihats in the snare mic yet? I've tried all of the usual ideas such as mic positioning, gates, automating the gate and editing the snare track waveform but I'm sometimes still getting that backward cymbal kind of sucking sound after some snare hits.

I remember in the big drum recording thread by Glenn "Oz" Fricker that he recorded the hi-hat track and hinted that he had something special in store for it later on! Was this to do with manipulating the phase so as to get the hi-hat out of the snare track?

Thanks guys

Raise the High Hats up, don't play them super open and don't hit them so fucking hard. And Glen miced the high hats so he could send them back out to the drummer at a slightly louder volume than the rest of the drums so the drummer wouldn't hit them so hard.

As a total newb myself I have not had issues with exsesive bleed like people have complained about.

Thanks guys :)

Yeah, dead right, but I like to compress the snare pretty hard with the UAD-1 1176, which obviously makes the problem worse. Thats why I was curious about maybe using reverse phase on a copy of the snare or hihat track to try and get rid of it that way, so was wondering if anybody else had tried it??

Thanks again

Physical separation is your best bet. On both vertical & horizontal planes. Honestly, these days, it's not really that much of an issue.

And, if the drummer still hits the hats too loud, run the hi hat mic back thru the headphones at an extreme level without telling him so. He'll back off, I guarantee it. :)

-0z-

Physical separation is your best bet. On both vertical & horizontal planes. Honestly, these days, it's not really that much of an issue.

And, if the drummer still hits the hats too loud, run the hi hat mic back thru the headphones at an extreme level without telling him so. He'll back off, I guarantee it. :)

-0z-

LOL! Nice one Oz :headbang: