How do I transfer that killer amp sound to record?!

schismatic

Kintsugi is coming
Feb 18, 2007
Gloucester, UK
Hey guys,

I've always used amp modellers like the pod in the past to get my guitar sound, but now I want to mic my amp as i have a half decent amp now. I've never done this before and so i'm just after some general tips for micing my amp. It's a 1 x 12 celestion (yeah i kno, no money for a cab yet!) and I'm micing it with an sm57. you guys have any tips on mic placement at all? I'd be particularly interested in learning how to blend tracks with the mic setup at different positions.

tommy.

hughes&kettner redbox works good (speaker emulation di box, DONT USE IT WITHOUT A CAB!!).

also a combination of sm57,md441,sennheiser 506. but the md 441 is about 800euro... but sounds great!

i normally mic the upper speaker of a 4x12 cab, the placement is often try and error. its standart placement, between the cone and the edge of the speaker (not the cab :p ), and expant from here. sometimes of axis. 2 inches away from the speaker works good i think.

the thin about this offaxis and multiple mic stuff is, that you'll get something like a natural eq, with blending the channels in and out. but you need to look forward to not have phasecancelation caused by different lenghs between mic and cab when micing with multiple mics.

but at least, i would prefer a redbox or reamping, realmicing is mostly to much trouble for small productions

Do a search man. 50% of this forums threads deal with recording guitar. Sneap himself uses nothing else than Celestion V30 + SM57. He even posted pics of his mic placement in some thread....

Just keep hanging out here.... there's tons of useful info in previous posts about recording guitar. Ultimately, It's all about trial & error so you can find what works for you.

-0z-