How much 'ping/ring' do you like in your snare track?

Mattayus

Sir Groove-A-Lot
Jan 31, 2010
Cambs, UK
www.numbskullaudio.com
I'm a guitarist, but nothing about drums makes me harder than a super high-tuned pingy snare. Getting that huge, untamed *CRACK* that resonates the whole shell sounds fucking beautiful. I can't stand snares with an o-ring on.

However, on faster music I find that the accumulative effect of this ping/ringing can be a bit overbearing, especially in combination with both the close mic and the overheads.

How do you like yours, and how do you go about dampening it marginally, and not completely? Moon gel? Strategically placed duct tape?

I usually record the snare with no dampening at all, just make sure that it's tuned right and it sounds good (with the ring and everything). If the ring is getting too prominent during the fast parts I just automate an EQ or sometimes even a multiband compressor to bring the ring down during those parts.

I'm actually dig ring, but as you mentioned on faster/ technical stuff not so much. But that ring make that hit feel like it's having some extra power in it, specially on groovier stuff.

Before I felt I kind of had to remove ALL the ring in the snare to get it to sound "clean". But lately I have been trying to simplify my mixing, and thus left some out that ring there, and it actually sounds really good in a mix. It feels more edgy, kind of. So, the right amount of ring can surely be desirable.

It depends on the mix and the snare and the type of ring. There's a certain type of ring, it's got a real...kinda "poooong" sound that I hate. But the ring that's got more high pitched ping to it, I love it.

Yeah, it does disappear under the mix quite a bit I guess.

I'm currently in a band that plays groovy hard rock, and our drummer's snare sounds fucking gnarly at practice when he takes the o-ring off, I was just concerned if it'd be an issue if we kept it that way for the EP.