How to master

pedromau

New Metal Member
Dec 27, 2010
Hey guys!
I'm a total newbie on mixing / mastering stuff... and there's a question I'd like to solve...

How do you usually master your mixes?
Should I export my drum tracks, guitars, bass, etc to one wav (per instrument) and make a new project to master it?

I use 11 tracks for drums, 2/3 for guitars, 1 bass and 1 vocal, and when I start adding plugins, my computer goes crazy!
And I do own some reasonable material:

Quad-Core 3, 66Hz
6Gb Ram DDR3
EMU-1820M
Windows 7 x64
Nuendo 5.0

But when I add stuff like compression, gate... recabinet3... it freezes!

PS: Sorry for my English

sounds like mixing to me. there are a bunch of ways that people master, the most common is a stereo 2-track that may-or-may-not require loudness/compression/surgical eq etc etc. but to avoid your computer from "freezing" during the mastering stages you might want to mix it first, then spend about 2-4 years of endless mistakes and successes (technical-trial and error) until you have a final, listenable version of your mix.

i have always said that the most important piece of equipment an engineer can own is the mtr (other than ref monitors and room treatment).

sounds like you have a decent mtr... just optimize it for digital audio and don't use cracked plugins and you should be square. ;)

1) Pay a professional this time
2) Fuck around with stuff for 3-4 decades
3) Know how to master songs
4) ???
5) Profit

Fixed.

Also, OP, your computer shouldn't be struggling like that. Mine's a Dualcore 2ghz with only 2gb of RAM and it generally runs fine, although if I've got ampsims going and stuff it usually gets to near 100% CPU. You computer seems to be at least 3-4 times faster than mine.