I need a new vocal mic

AmirH

meh
Aug 12, 2003
seattle
I've got a u87 currently(an older one from the 70's) that I dig a lot but the thing is I'm moving soon to pursue my graduate degree. I don't want it to get stolen and it seems to me that since it's my first time on my own it would be better left at home. Soooo... I'm essentially looking for a replacement mic to use while over there. I'm in my last week at Guitar Center so I get stuff at cost- which can vary. An at4040 would run me about 225 for example and a rode nt2a would run 235. That's about the price range to be honest though I could jump as high as 350(price of an ntk) if the quality is there. Will be running into a saffire pro.

Soooo... suggestions? needs to be versatile and able to handle more than just vocals(acoustic guitar ect...) LDC preferred.

Lots of good things said about the at4040 here but I also heard it's crispy/a bit bright.

guys at work recommend the nt2a and I'm curious about the ntk.

I've also heard sterling audio stuff can be nice. I need some advice and somewhat quick- my last day is saturday!

I would go with the 4040... you can always tame the high end on it... and it does sound really good... and for $225, thats probable WAAAAAY better than th nt2a... which i heard was a piece of crap, both in sound and build.

And no offense to you, but I find that most salesman at GC dont know their asses from a hole in the ground.

hey man. i actually don't find the 4040 overly bright at all. its pretty smooth in the high end actually which is probably why so many people like it. i think it delivers plenty of bottom end. compared to my nt1a its really dark if that says anything. i don't think even spending 350.00 would get you a "better" sounding mic, just different. i am planning on buying another 4040 as soon as i can. its a great mic you'll have for a long time. good luck.

I would spend $50 and just insure the U87. Done.