im new to putting vocals in a mix

foundations

Jul 6, 2010
ok so im prety happy with the rest of my mix and have been mixing instruments for a while now so i know where im at

but this is my first real go at mixing vocals, and im not happy with the sound at all

i recorded them using an SE X1
and iv used:
Multiband Compressor
Reverb
EQ
Gate
on the vocal group channel

someone please give me some pointers as to why this sounds soo bad over my mix?
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/15846363/Ambidjent Vocals.mp3

i dont have waves plugins
and i dont want to have to layer the vocals to get it thicker i dont want doubled vocals all the way through the song, i believe layering takes away from the actual vocalists performance
i just want help to make the takes i currently have to sound their best
here is someone elses recording of the same vocalist and the vocals sound great with just 1 layer.. the song isnt mixed yet tho
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/15846363/Districts.mp3

it just sounds like you need to be compressing much harder. if necessary use 2 compressors in a row, each working less hard. do this on the individual channels, and then put another compressor on the vocal group's channel taking off another 2-3 db or so.

with guttural vocals we're not really looking to preserve dynamics in the performance, so don't be afraid to compress the shit out of them

thanks jack that realy helps. atm im just using the one multi band compression, and with that im obviously compressing a lot on the highs and not so much of the lows, do you think i should just put a straight up single band compressor in there aswel? and make the multi band work less hard?