Is Being Polished Being A Sell-Out?

MetalManCPA

Papa Opeth
May 19, 2001
Visit site
Maybe I'm looking at this wrong, but I was thinking tonight about Metallica and Dimmu Borgir. I know people think Metallica sold-out, and although I am not familiar with the entire history of Dimmu Borgir, from all the "hatred" towards them in this forum, it seems many think they sold out too.

Now to me, polished has so much to do with production.

With that being said, I was listening to some of their stuff tonight in the car. I grew up with Metallica, so I know how they've changed. I listened to Battery, then Fuel, then Wherever I May Roam. Obviously, James had a major vocal change in the album Black. A much richer sound. Polished. Then, they are dubbed a sell-out. No with Load, Re-Load, and that symphony album, I personally just don't like the direction they are headed - just my opinion.

Now I am relatively new to Dimmu Borgir, but I honestly think their new album is quite amazing. And seeing them live really solidified my positive attitude towards their music - and it is very polished for this "genre" of music - again, in my opinion.

So - is a better production by a band, relative to their earlier stuff, the defining moment in them being dubbed a "sell-out"? Does this polish make them a "sell-out"? Are people into the "real" metal scene too hung up on the raw power of metal? Meaning, that when a band has that raw sound, and then progresses to a fuller, richer, better produced album, there is a falling out?

Just a curious rambling question before I hit the sack. I'm always tired after playing ice hockey :)

I disagree. Many metal albums(particularly 80's ones) would sound alot better with good production. It's only when a band throws away all musical value, and starts relying completely on production that they're sellouts(ie. Metallica - The Black Album).

No.