Demonspell

cheating the polygraph
Apr 29, 2001
dead between the walls
www.ultimatemetal.com
DEMONSPELL’S SONGS TO WATCH
LIVE FROM AMERICA EDITION
Written September 27, 2001

Greetings, devoted readers. This is my first time writing Songs To Watch since the redesign of the UM site, which should make it easier to access and respond, and more importantly eliminate the posting delays caused by having to E-mail a copy before it could be posted. The World Trade Center disaster still continues to consume our minds, and has caused me to generate less time in preparing this column as it has placed the importance of music in perspective. The title of this week’s edition may be misleading as I have not attended a concert since the terrorist attack, but instead focuses on an incredible alignment of live albums from three of the best bands in the history of progressive metal. More on that below. And now, the songs…

Bruce Dickinson – Wicker Man, Real World, No Way Out pt. 2: I’ll begin with the recent compilation of solo Bruce efforts, which doesn’t come close to collecting all of his nonalbum tracks, many of which are stylistic departures (like the last track) but still successful. This Wicker Man is completely unrelated to the Maiden song, and has an atmosphere similar to that found on Chemical Wedding.

Edguy – Golden Dawn, Pharaoh: The End Records has picked up their latest album Mandrake for US release. While the advance single does nothing for me, the former track previewed on the same EP is top-flight power metal from this band that has improved with every album it has released so far. The latter song is a 10-minute track that should keep Avantasia admirers reaching for the skip to button…