Job suggestions

Metaltastic

Feb 20, 2005
So here's my situation fellas - as many know, I graduated from college in May '09 with a BS in Geography, concentration in Land Use Planning. That field I'm discovering is pretty much out of the question these days, as there is no shortage of recently laid-off Planners out there with far more qualifications than I, so I've shifted my focus elsewhere, scanning classifieds and such (as well as going for a Networking certificate from my local community college)

However, my issue is that my work experience consists of a summer working at Subway, a summer doing landscaping, and a summer interning at the Westchester County Planning Department, hardly a massive breadth of work experience. I've been perpetually scanning the classified ads, applying to entry-level admin. assistant, Customer Service Rep, etc. positions, but lack of experience is perpetually killing me, and my degree clearly isn't worth much in the face of that; I guess I'm starting this thread to ask you guys - in your expert :)D) opinion, is my only option really to go work in a fucking grocery store or some other equally menial job (which thus far I've avoided applying to because of how little they pay), just so I can pay my dues and build up a foundation of work experience? Fat lot of good this fucking degree is doing me if so, but that's what it's looking like :erk:

Thoughts?

When all else fails go into construction..If you learn the trade you can make some decent money in it..or be a stagehand or live sound engineer...just throwin some randoms out there for ya

When all else fails go into construction..If you learn the trade you can make some decent money in it..or be a stagehand or live sound engineer...just throwin some randoms out there for ya