Just started recording some vocals (complete newb at this)

JonWormwood

Jun 16, 2007
Jax, Fl
So I'm finally putting my Studio Projects B3 to good use.

I pretty decent results with screaming vocals in my MOTU 828 MkII. I typically record on the figure eight pattern but I'm going to keep playing with the cardioid.

What do you guys typically do for post on vox? Along with double tracking the main vocals, I find myself using the reverse reverb trick on certain parts, then some light compression with Waves RVox.

Any tips or tricks would be quite helpful as I haven't delved into the area of vocals before.

Not sure if you have treated rooms or not for vocals but i like to hang a few moving blankets with my extra mic stands. I usually surround the singer on 3 sides with them. It really helps kill some of that untreated room refections of my square room. My vocals usually come out pretty well and i use a studio project b1.

There is band in my sound click page called Zymosis check out the vox for an example....

www.soundclick.com/dreadcorerecords

Not sure if you have treated rooms or not for vocals but i like to hang a few moving blankets with my extra mic stands. I usually surround the singer on 3 sides with them. It really helps kill some of that untreated room refections of my square room. My vocals usually come out pretty well and i use a studio project b1.

There is band in my sound click page called Zymosis check out the vox for an example....

www.soundclick.com/dreadcorerecords

I typically put the singer in my bathroom to isolate them from the noise but great idea and great sound with you have. I'm going to give that one a try, thanks mate!

Thanks dude....