Keyboard / Vocals Help

Fourth Sky

New Metal Member
Jun 2, 2007
I play the keyboard, I have been playing for about 2 months now. I really want to play stuff like dragonforce. (yes yes I know, it's stupidly insane but set your goals high, right?) I also am into singing, although I'm not that good, but I heard somewhere you can work on you singing voice and make it better.

I like power metal the best, so going in that direction would be the best, but I'm also into screaming (a little).

So, if you have any help for either of those I would be very grateful. Any songs I should learn/sing. Any techniques I should know, etc...

thanks in advance

i love power metal, in most of the vacalists learn to project their selves. when singing picture that theres a long golden string coming from your voice, and you can see every note, try to imagine that there is a big funnel pointing from ur head in the direction ur singging. this sounds stupid but it worked for me.

u really can't expect that u already can play dragonforce. that is insane, like u said. if u start with something easy, example some ballads, slow, which have keys in it. best way to practice your fingers is scales, all. if u can play one song slowly, u can later fast also. it is wrong to play right away fast. that is my opinion;)

Well, DragonForce is hard, but how well you play depends on how much you practice. If you learn any song, regardless of how fast it is, slowly, and gradually increase the tempo until you reach the actual speed, you shouldn't have any trouble playing it in a couple of months.

Try learning classical pieces and basic scales so you have something that you can work on to speed up your fingers. Also, someone mentioned playing ballads which is a good idea. Sonata Arctica in my opinion has more impressive keyboard work, and also has good ballads that you could start with. Also, look into some Neo-Classical Metal or learn guitar riffs and solos to play on the keyboard.