keyboardists/recording engineers please help!!!

Katalepsy

Aug 2, 2004
katalepsy.741.com
I have a couple questions for all you keyboardists and recording engineers out there...

(pre-questioning)
Okay, well I just started playing keys a little less than a week ago, and I have been playing guitar for almost 3 years, so I'm doing alright learning a new instrument. In fact, I'd say I am progressing rather quickly for never really having any chance to learn to play keys/piano. And now I'm really starting to get into it, and I'm trying to find some better equipment for sometime in the future. I am pretty sure that I want to get 88 and 61 key MIDI controllers, and I have no idea what kind of sound module I should be looking for.

1. Does anyone know anything about the M-Audio Keystation Pro 88es and 61es? Those are the two I'm looking at currently. They have gotten some pretty good reviews on Musicians Friend, and they are pretty affordable.

2. Do any of you know of a good sound module that's relatively cheap? I'm not lookin for a Korg Triton module or anything (though that would be nice) because I won't be looking to spend $98237597213985912375973195737. I've been looking at the E-MU (Creative Labs) Proteus X PCI card, but I'm not sure exactly what I should be looking for with a sound module.

Any help would be greatly apprectiated.

Softsynths are another alternative if you're not planning on doing any gigs on keys...unless you feel like dragging your computer around and hoping that it doesn't crash mid-song, plus there's latency issues with patch/setup changes. For playing at home and recording though, they work just as good as anything else. You just need to find one that's got a variety of stuff, not JUST piano or JUST virtual synths or any other instrument, which a lot of them are.