Latency (monitoring)

Tym_ex

Tymon
Dec 30, 2005
The Netherlands
www.exivious.net
Hey guys, I've been thinking about this issue for some time now but never really asked someone about it or read anything useful on it.

We all know Pro Tools (TDM & HD, I have no experience with their non dsp stuff) monitors all incoming signals through software, or their dsp hardware, however you want to see it. This works well because the latency is ridiculously low.

So now the real issue, how are Nuendo, Sonar, Logic people handling this problem? I'm a Nuendo user myself with a Presonus Firepod set at 4ms latency. Works quite well for guitar players and the like but I've had drummers and bass players complaining about the latency. Is there a solution to this problem or do all you non Pro Tools users monitor in hardware?

Discuss! :)

Personally, if i'm recording software amp sims, i'll either just play clean and monitor the DI signal as i've been playing amps long enough that i know how to coax the feel of an amp without there actually being one...
I monitor this via hardware

That said, if it's a pod, i'll i'll also monitor via hardware.

Long/short, i always monitor via hardware if it's myself playing.

If it's other musicians that can't cope with a dry signal, i'll either set a send to the pod or track one track at a time witrh an amp sim on a send to minimize CPU.

Well, I've noticed that my Mbox 2 with Pro Tools is poor with software monitoring so I always monitor the live feed from the mic or di before it goes in. Actually, I'm thinking that the best way to use pro tools is as a tape machine and go through an analog mixer to monitor everything.

I use Firepods too. Make sure you set the control panel (by right clicking on it) to CPU: HIGH otherwise the driver limits your lowest possible latency. You should be able to get under 2ms by setting CPU to high.