Live Sound.

Seizure.

Jul 13, 2005
holland
www.seizure-music.com
yo dudes,

i have been asked to do live sound quit some while know, by quit some bands..
and i have just been asked again by a band thats notorious for its music being hard to mix out live ( http://www.myspace.com/greylinehardcore ).

And i'm not quit sure yet if i should accept, i mean... i do have some experience in live mixing ( i had to jump in once for the last band on an evening, were i actually was doing monitors in which i have most experience..), and i build up P.A's for a job so i know how everything works.. but apart from that i NEVER did sound for a band from start to finish...

Now...
i CAN make stuff sound decent (allthough i'm still learning..), and i know my EQ technique's/range...
were mud is... were the hiss is.. were that cheap sound on the guitar is..etc..
but most of this was gained in the studio and i'm kinda worrying on these things:

first of all the difference between graphic (i couldn't come up with the better word..) and parametric EQ... (i understand the difference between the 2 obviously.. but can i work with them fast/good enough.. don't i need some practice first.. what range is most important to take on first in a live situation? that sort of thing..)
Then the big difference between mixing in a big ass venue with a big P.A next to mixing on nearfield monitors... thats should change some things..:oops:

and not having a C4 in rack version ofcourse:D (anyway how i could get low end in shape live wise?)

so dudes... help me out here.... should i go over the things i DO know.. practice on a Mackie abit to get the parametric thing down... and just get myself in shape for this thing and just see and hope everything goes well? (i realy do believe i have the knowledge to do mix these guys well...)

or should i decline and get some practice first? (and not having to risk having a band kicking my ass for giving them crap sound.. IF it happens..)

HELP ME OUT HERE!!!:erk: