Long Time Lurker requests your feedback for 100% DIY Tune.

HDWR

Sep 16, 2009
Tallahasse, FL. USA
First time poster, long time lurker. I've learned a lot of great and vital info creeping around on this board and now it's time to post up a song.

I did the whole thing myself. Writing, performing all instruments, mixing and shit mastering. This whole thing was an exercise to get more familiar with the process of recording and mixing. I used Reaper for it.

All aspects of this are open to suggestion, impressions, criticism or just general mockery!

I'm no kinda singer and not a lead guitar player at all. I've never tried to sing a song before (being a drummer mainly) I opened my mouth and this is what came out. If one of you guitarists want to throw a lead down that's be great!

Please let me know what you think. Good bad or indifferent.

Thanks in advance!

http://shup.com/Shup/215911/01-Envision-2.mp3

guitars sound VERY muffled, really needs improvment (i dig the riffage do)
drums sound very fake, clipping and audible distorion in the beginning and the snare doesn´t cut it
needs verb in the chorus and spoken words
i´d say that it really isn´t mixed, sounds more like u´ve put together the tracks
it doesn´t have dimension, depth.

i wrote as i was listening...

As u said it´s an exercise and as so needs more exercises.

Hey thanks for listening. I appreciate your impressions and agree with pretty much all you've said. How would you fix the problem of it doesn't sound mixed so much as the tracks are just put together?

Well your definitely a drummer as you can tell by the mix.....lol

Snare has to come WAYYYY down in the mix
Bass and guitars need work. The guitar tone is weak and thin. Is this a Pod Farm, some plugin or a real amp?

If its a real amp redo it, the tone coming from the amp has no balls AT ALL. If its a plugin, try going for something with a little more meat in the midrange. That scooped out midrange sound is just so "shitallica".