Making MIDI triggered piano sound less shit...

Oct 16, 2010
Uk
Okay, so I'm obviously not using the Microsoft GM sounds...

I have quite a few options of pro-sampled pianos but have never been able to justify buying a full piano suite since I'm not really a pianist.

I've recorded an instrumental cover of Heart's classic song "Alone".

I can actually play all the piano parts but I always end up quantizing my piano playing perfectly, so I figure there is no difference between me manually playing it than triggering a MIDI track in to a VST, other than velocity... (Plus I learned the piano part from the MIDI track, so no variation on notes!).

As I say, I'm no pro keyboardist and to be honest my controller keyboard feels cheap and nasty (I'd love a semi-weighted one). So I highly doubt my "natural velocities" will really even sound that authentic.

I'm using Cubase 5. I have dabbled with random velocities in the plugins section, but after having a quick look around, couldn't really find anything to humanize the playing. Have I missed something?

So basically, my piano sounds shit, even with nice samples (I guess I'll have to work on that myself).

Is there a quick way to humanize MIDI playing that I have missed?

Any tips?

Thanks.

That's a hard question dude. Normally humanizing drums isn't that hard because most of the times we are looking for a semi-robotic performance anyway, just with some random slight variations in time and velocity.
A piano track has nothing to do with that. You have to give NATURAL expressiveness and no humanizing feature on a DAW can do that. Humanizing timing a bit after quantizing will give you some results to begin with, but the problem will be velocity. You can play or edit it by hand. I don't see any other solution, sorry.