Mixing with Plugins on Master Bus?

Element77

Sep 12, 2006
Might be a stupid question, but when setting levels or tweaking sound, do you do this while effecting the Master Out (i.e. Compression, or GClip, or Elephant) or prior?

I know I can get a decent sound, but if I do this prior to putting something on the Master, then place compression or the like, it goes haywire. Bass is too loud, kick drum sounds like a woodblock, etc., etc.

What is the correct way to handle this? Or by placing something on afterwards and having it go to shit a good indication that my mix sucks to begin with?

If you are good at mixing you probably only need about 2-3db's of GR from a master bus compressor, such as Waves SSL, the glue etc. And perhaps a little bit of eq'ing can be nice. I also like a multiband comp on my master.

I guess I should say, I like some compression overall, to make the the mix pump. I'm still learning the in's and out's of compression. I just fart around till it's good to my ears. I'm probably doing it wrong.....
And I'm not good at mixing otherwise I'd know these things!

Just mix THEN master.
I don't mix with plugins on the master out. Never had to and never needed to IME.
Working on your mastering skills takes a long time and is very hard. It took me almost a year just to figure out how to get decent volume without distorting everything.
And it's still a struggle.

Just mix THEN master.
I don't mix with plugins on the master out. Never had to and never needed to IME.
Working on your mastering skills takes a long time and is very hard. It took me almost a year just to figure out how to get decent volume without distorting everything.
And it's still a struggle.

mix bus compression is not about loudness.