Montreal Metal

sdmf2

May 17, 2006
Toronto, Canada
www.myspace.com
so, I'm going to Montreal for the first weekend in may and apparently its the Metal capital of North America. anyone know of any good shops, venues, hangouts, etc in Montreal or the surrounding areas that one might wanna visit?

You guys are lucky to live so close to a hub. I'm stuck up here, where the best bar has 40 year old strippers and no tables.

Some day I'll have to make my way to Quebec and Toronto for a vacation or something.

I've also heard this, many bands make it their only non-European stop. I'd love to get there one day.
i don't know about many. most of the bands that play montreal also come to Toronto.

and yeah Profusion is a great store (or at least from their email lists it seems that way). they haven't responded to my last email though, so i guess i should send another to Remi

As a Quebec resident I heard that too, the crowd is insane from the start to the end, I dont think we can see that in the streets though...the mood is when the show begin hehe

does anyone know of booking contacts in montreal? does the apocalypse company promote or just do live recordings?

First of all, I must admit I am biased. I was born in Quebec city and lived there for 20 years before being forced to move to Montreal to continue my studies. I believe the metal capital of North America is Quebec city. Sure, it's a small city... some call it the biggest village of Quebec. There are fewer metal shops than in Montreal and there are certainly fewer bars that play metal than in montreal, if any. However, if the crowd happens to like the band that's playing, half of the audience that would attend the same show in Montreal will be twice as noisy. That's no joke. Rimouski and Trois-Rivières, as small cities, are also underestimated compared to the metropole with way too much people that is Montreal. Of course metal seems more popular in Montreal, but its population is at least twice as big.