most used Tunings and string gauges?

vejichan

Dec 29, 2011
i am totally new to this alternate tuning world. Up until last week i have never venture outside of standard tuning and eb tuning

I have 4 guitars that are all in standard e tuning. i realize that it might be more productive and useful to have them in different tunings.

now with that in mind what are the most widely used tunings outside of eb and e standard for prog metal/hard rock music?

need advice on what my options are for each guitar? i plan to have a tech set it up for that tuning

1) 1 guitar setup for standard e. --- what options with alternate tuning to i have that wouldn't require any adjustments (truss rod/intonation etc) what string gauge do you recommend for this?

2) 1 guitar setup for standard eb. --- what options with alternate tuning to i have that wouldn't require any adjustments (truss rod/intonation etc) what string gauge do you recommend for this?

3) 1 guitar setup for drop c. --- what options with alternate tuning to i have that wouldn't require any adjustments (truss rod/intonation etc) what string gauge do you recommend for this?

4) 1 guitar?? no idea

thanks

Anytime you have a guitar setup for a particular tuning, that's it. You don't have any options with alternate tunings. Once you change the tuning, the intonation will be off. And, depending on if it's a tremolo equipped guitar, you're going to have even more adjustments to make. Setup the guitar for a particular tuning and leave it.

We can't really give you string gauge recommendations because we need to know the scale length of your guitar. Also, what string gauge are you used to will play a role, too. Keeping the string tension the same across guitars with different tunings will help with playability and things like note-bends.