My first mix, please critique it!

RobStorms

New Metal Member
May 26, 2012
What's up guys I recently started learning Pro Tools with a boot camp tutorial I found. This track I used in conjunction with the videos for a hands on learning . This is my first track/mix I have made in recording software. I am going to use it to promote my guitar lessons and hopefully soon enough promote myself for recording purposes.

I recorded with my ESP EC1000 & Schecter Hellraiser through amplitube amp sims and used superior drummer for the drums.

The middle riff doesn't have bass yet so may sound a little weak.

I am new at this, just want constructive criticism so I can get better

Last edited by a moderator:
The Guitars are really muddy, and try to tweak the amplitude for a better tone ( the better your raw tone, the less eq u have to use ) and try using filters and limiters, The Leads are nice but u need to compress it more and make it sound really bright

The Bass tone needs to work

Drums : Work on reverb, try using steven slate triggers , different snares and stuff

i think you are new to this forum, but in few days man you will learn alot of stuff if you keep hanging around here alot often , look out for joey strugis forum too and one thing my friend i am also a beginner in production too :D ( so i am also kind of training my ears ), watch out for more people replies, there are really awesome producers on this forum :D

Drums: They sound like superior, bone stock. Try different samples, tuning the drums differently and adding some reverb and compression to them outside of superior. Down the road you can try blending superior with other samples to make a new drum tone. The snare had some trouble cutting through at times. Try a bit more EQ'ing.

Leads: A bit too fizzy for my tastes. Experiment with narrow cuts in the fizzy hi frequencies.