My perspective on modern double-kick drumming...

I really got burned out on power metal bands that just rode the double-base constantly, which seemed to be just about everything that came out a few years back. Really makes you appreciate those truely talented drummers that don't rely on it all of the time.

I really got burned out on power metal bands that just rode the double-base constantly, which seemed to be just about everything that came out a few years back. Really makes you appreciate those truely talented drummers that don't rely on it all of the time.

+1

I was thinking about it while checking the new Angra song. I do love power metal, but if the drum goes like that all the time, on all songs, on all the albums, just got on my bollocks :bah: (something that pisses me off of last Cage album).

I dont like it, its grooveless, it lacks accents the fundamental element of expression. I'll take a good old dose of Bonzo or Paul Hammond anyday.

being a drummer, i have to say double bass sure is fun as hell. lol but in seriousness, i dont think it should be looked down upon or seen as a drummer's inability to do something else if they do it too often. not to say i enjoy it...i dont think it drums should be layed out in a cookie-cutter fashion (cough sonata arctica, even though i love the music)

what i see it as (if it's a repetitive and constant method for a given drummer) is a result of the way most drummer's, and musicians in general, operate when it comes to the percussion.