My recording headache . . . tone help required!

AgentX

Jun 14, 2009
Oxford, UK
www.facebook.com
Hi all

I have been recording my music for about 2 years and have found myself gradually getting more proficient over time but recently I have really hit a brick wall getting the right tone. I have been trying to get a ballsy rhythm tone; kind of like the in flames one as I think it complements my style well. However. . . All I can seem to get is a very flat and buzzy tone that doesn’t carry the songs and sits in the background farting away.

My current equipment list is Line6 Studio UX2 with PodFarm and a couple of plug-in’s and 2 Jackson DK2 guitars (one with emg-81 and the second with Seymour Duncan invaders).

I also use exclusively reaper for my tracking and as a rule double track all my guitars

I regularly read the forums and pick up loads of information all time and trying it out, and now I’m in information overload and completely confused!

It would be really great if anyone could lead me back in the right direction by telling me why my tone sucks and how I can improve it. I’m not looking for a quick fix; here is a patch, hey presto, but want to learn where my mistakes are. Although examples would be great :)

The chain im using at the moment is Noise Gate > PodFarm > EQ with a dip at 4k > Andys C4 and i sometimes use TSS in front.

The master track usually has a limiter on to get more volume
I have uploaded an example mix of my current tone and both left and right rhythm dry tracks recorded off my dk2 with invaders for people to have a listen to.

http://rib.warp13.co.uk/sneap

Any advice, links, tips, examples of great tones using these dry tracks is really welcome! I will gladly give more information if anyone requires it?

Cheers!