Need help from guitar geeks

Gomez

Nov 4, 2005
London U.K.
www.orgonemastering.com
Hi guys.

I got a guitar I want to get rid of as I'm a drummer and I proved myself to be useless at any other instrument.

Here is what I know about the guitar:

- Make: Jackson
- Model JRR (Randy Rhoads one - don't know what the "J" stands for)
- No Floyd Rose, the strings go all the way to the back of the guitar through the wood.
- It's got an EMG pick up (how can I find out which model?)
- It's made in Japan, which probably means it's better than ones made after Jackson moved the factory to Korea (or at least that's what I heard!)
- the other pickup is a jackson.
- The electrics are a bit messed up, only one pick up seem to be connected.

So the question is, could I sell this and make a few decent quid? or is it worth nothing? If it's worth nothing, I'll keep as it does look "cool" and might be handy for the occasional overdub.

Help please!

Gomez

Post some pics I might be interested, I love Jackson Rhoads V's. Even if it's crap I still might jump on it as I've wanted to nab another Rhoads V to do some custom paintwork on. You can e-mail them to me at 006productions@gmail.com

I'll try to see if I can dig up some info for you on that model based on the specs you posted. I'm sure it originally came stock with two Jackson hummers, so the EMG is something someone else added. As far as seeing which model, I *believe* if you take the pickup out, you can look on it's underside and it will have the model name/number on it. The wiring problem (only one pickup seems to be working) isn't a big deal at all, it's most certainly just an unconnected wire. I would be willing to bet that the EMG is an active one, so it's probably one of the good ones (81, 85, etc.), and the Jackson is a passive. So maybe whoever installed it just left the Jackson disconnected. Some pictures would really help. Maybe even a soundclip or two?

~006