Neumann vocal mics. 2 in mind.

ahtuks

Feb 14, 2008
Considering to buy all new studiogear.
Like RME fireface 800 for sure replacing my old Creamware Pulsar2 with TDAT16(not ultra)
UAD X2 Nevana with a bunch of kickass plugs (can't live with soft vst anymore cause most of them sound like a flat shit).

Finally a Neumann, these came in to final selection:
M 147 (Tubecondenser) €1.975,- tryed this one in other studio :rolleyes:
U87 Ai €2.444,-
so i'm a total noob to prostudio mics , everything i have is a shure 57,58 and some other cheapshit.
so your wise advises is needed guys :err:
which Neumann you would grab? :loco:

Yeah, seriously - Neumann LDC's are so far beyond anything I'd even remotely consider, and given all the amazing stuff I've heard on this forum from cheap gear, my dream condenser for the next, oh, decade is a $600 Audio Technica AT4050!

As for the Fireface, I'm planning on getting the 400 as soon as a fucking credit card company will approve me, cuz the extra two preamps and analog in's on the 800 are NOT worth an extra $500 to me.

That is a pretty big step. Do you have any other LDC's? You might do well to buy a pair of something like 4050's, bock 195's, or tlm49's instead.
Actually for the price of the u87 you could buy a pair of 4050's and a pair of 195's and one sm7.
You certainly won't regret owning a u87, but you might wish for more options.

if you spring for a U87, get an old used one - fuck the ai version

and i'd also agree that there's a LOT of condensers that will give you more quality for less money...shit, even the telefunken M16/AK47's are 1/2 the price of a U87

thanks for response guys !
well i heard AT4050 ran in to firepod in other studio, BUT the sound was not really acceptable to me.:ill: wenn i sung in to neumann m147 that was like .. you know ..whoaaa. sounded really natural and clear what else to say. yeah , fuck, they so expensive.
so in this pricerange 500 eur more are ok.