Noob needs mixing help/advice

B Rad

New Metal Member
Nov 22, 2012
www.weareallaringofscars.com

Hello all. I've been working in my own home studio for about 3 years learning how to mix my own projects. I'm looking for some advice as I am now getting better sound quality at the source (Using Kemper for guitars and bass). I find that I was able to use mics to get a good metal mix, but now that I have really upped the quality at the source it has completely changed the final mix.

I also usually double track guitars, but our guitarist insists that we do quad tracking, because "that is how it is supposed to be done". IMO, I can get 2 guitars to sound better than 4 any day.

So a quick outline of my workflow:
I record everything into SONAR, then bounce Stems to go to final mix

Drums: Record drums with 2 overheads and a room mic, 100% replace kick and Just a tiny little bit of blended trigger on the snare. Everything else is Dry and EQ'd and gated (toms and snare). I edit the drums to be really close to the click.

Bass: 1 DI track which I use primarily for lows, 1 track through an AMPEG profile on kemper

GTR: This is the first time I've tried quad tracking, 4 really kick ass profiles (2 5150's, a Diesel and maybe one other that I cannot recall ) panned 80% and 100%

I then bounce down stereo stems of GTR, BASS (I use hi/low pass on each of the 2 tracks), Kick, Snare, Toms, Room/OH and send to REAPER to get a final mix and polish on everything.

I adjust the shape/EQ, verb etc as best I can to get everything to sit well and to still have that heaviness... I feel like the Guitars are just too much or too little, really hard to find the right spot. Also, I'm not sure if I am compressing too much or too little on my master. the guitar tone changes so much with even just a little shift in compression.