OH/snare problem

Leon--

Apr 17, 2009
London
hey guys
How do you remove the snare from the OH's?
I'm doing a mix right now and i've used compression,HP/LP filters,notch filters with the EQ but there's still some problem.
any tips?
cheers

well, if you are sample replacing the snare and dont want the original snare bleeding through the OHs, you sidechain it to a gate or compressor, so that when the sample hits, it will take out the OHs snare. Or, this might be easier, if the snare and the OH's snare are in phase, invert the phase on the snare track, and to my understanding, it should atleast make the snare sound way weaker, letting a sample easily cut through.

Also, more experienced AEs chime in and correct me if I'm wrong. I'm still learning too

It starts at the source with how you place the microphones and the room. As far as EQ tips, most snares have a fundamental around 200Hz. Some are 150, 170, 200, 210, 220, etc. You can highpass the overheads to help, which most people do anyway as they have unnecessary low-end in them. I have only ever gone as high as like 600-650Hz with a HP on OH's, typically it's more like 400 or so. If that isn't enough try cutting out around the 200Hz area as well to help get rid of some of the snare fundamental in there. If it's still a problem, sidechain a compressor like Jrich said to the OH bus and get it so that it ducks out the snare hits. If all of that doesn't work you're fucked. :lol:

My argument would be to record a nice sounding snare in the first place so you don't have to kill it in the overheads later ;)

If you have to do it then sidechain a limiter to kick in every time the snare hits, and high pass the overheads at around 500hz.

Overall though I've never really understood this mentality. I've never had a snare sound so god awful that I sat thinking "I need to get rid of that snare in the overheads" To me overheads are half the drum sound!