Ola's Feared Song Test Mix

trianglebutt

Feb 22, 2012
Hey guys, I've lurked around here but only just got around to registering. Hopefully I'm allowed to post this in here even though it's not my song or raw tracks. I play drums and guitars and am starting to really work on my recording and mixing skills. However I haven't been able to record a full mix with vocals and bass myself so I saw Ola had posted the raw tracks for this and figured I could give mixing it a shot!

I used the Superior 2 Avatar kit for the drums, and LePou's 456 sim for the guitars with an ENGL Pro 4x12 IR. Bass was all just DI with some distortion blended in.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17103404/Feared Test Master 5.m4a

I'd really love some input on how to better approach mixing and such, as I'm pretty much a complete noob at this. So any critiques or pointers or tips are welcome!

- Aaron

Hey there Aaron and welcome to the forum!
There's way too much room on the drums (the room channel in superior drums is too loud). If you want to give them some depth and space, use a little plate reverb. And bring the overall volume of the drums up a little, and the guitars lower. Vocals could use a little bit of reverb too.
Also, try minimizing the interaction between the vocals and the cymbals/overheads. A little trick i like to use is boost the overheads at 12k+ and make a notch at 5k (wide Q, -9, -10db) and using a harmonic exciter or linear phase eq on the vocals in the 5k range. That's exactly how i did it with this song when i had a go at mixing it.

BTW, your guitar tone is one of the best i've ever heard, real gritty and brutal. Where did you find those Engl pro impulses? And what else did you use in your guitar chain?